Pro hits out of water, gets rock stuck in club, calls for ruling (

“Referee for Barnrat. Club damage,” an official radioed.

“It’s a game that keeps on giving, doesn’t it?” an announcer on the Golf Channel broadcast said. “Just when you think you’ve seen it all.”

Indeed. What Kiradech Aphibarnrat’s 10-yard shot lacked in distance, it made up for in being different.

It all started when Aphibarnrat, during Saturday’s third round of the BMW PGA Championship, had hit his tee shot into a drainage ditch marked as a penalty area on the par-5 12th at Wentworth Golf Club. He elected to play it from there, swung, and the ball splashed out while Aphibarnrat was doused.

“Oh, that’s a crowd pleaser,” an announcer on the broadcast said amid cheers. “Not a day for white trousers. That’s pretty mucky in there.”

Apparently. He had connected with more than a ball. As Aphibarnrat walked out, he flipped his club over and stopped.

Inside his club was a stone.

The official was called.

“The reason why he called the ref, Aphibarnrat, he’s actually, when he played out of that penalty area, he got a rock stuck in the club on the face,” the second announcer said. “But the referee has deemed that it’s legal.”

Couldn’t Aphibarnrat just remove it?

Subscribe to our Newsletter

The best golf content delivered directly to your inbox.

Private island on Everglades Club selling for $200 million (

Use this simple drill to sharpen your iron play in no time (