in

Cheyenne Woods, fueled by a wrong-ball penalty, medals at U.S. Women's Open qualifier (golfweek.usatoday.com)

Cheyenne Woods won the Spring Lake, New Jersey, U.S. Women’s Open qualifier by five strokes on Monday and credited a two-stroke penalty for lighting the fire that got her there.

On the par-4 seventh hole at Spring Lake Golf Club, both Woods and her playing competitor hit their second shots to the right on a somewhat blind approach. Woods said she hit her second shot quite poorly and assumed hers was the ball nestled down in the rough on the edge of a bunker. Her playing competitor indicated that the ball on the green was hers.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

The best golf content delivered directly to your inbox.

Rules Guy: Can you take free relief from a ball resting on broken glass? (golf.com)

Paige Spiranac Says Men Use Binoculars To Watch Her At Golf Course (www.ladbible.com)